Formula to calculate Estimated Traffic:
Search volume * CTR of the site's ranking triggered by the selected keyword
My site is ranked number 1 on the keyword “Insurance”. “Insurance” has a search volume of 10,000 (10,000 users type this keyword each month).
The click thru rate for a ranking in position 1 is 37%.
So, the estimated traffic for the site triggered in that position by “Insurance” is:
10,000 * 37 / 100 = 3,700 visits per month
Note: It is possible to enter your own click thru rates into the tool to calculate estimated traffic. To do this, you need to edit your project here:
Scroll to step 3:
Then click on Activate. You can establish different click thru rates based on brand or non-brand keywords (provided you have tagged the brand keywords as is).