The formula used to calculate the estimated traffic on a domain’s ranking on a specific keyword looks like this:
Search Volume of the Keyword * CTR of the Site’s ranking on that keyword
The keyword “Insurance” has a search volume of 10,000 (i.e. 10,0000 users type this keyword in their search queries on the search engine).
The keyword “insurance” triggers my site. My site ranks in position 1 on this keyword and the CTR for a site ranking in position 1 is 37%.
The estimated traffic, therefore, would be calculated like this:
10,000 * 37/100 = 3,700 visits per month.
You also have the option of entering your own click thru rates for each position/ ranking based on your industry to calculate the estimated traffic. To do this, follow these steps: